The New Year is upon us

January 2, 2009

And it’s about time for me to put up something new.  The pain from the results of the November election has changed from a sharp burning to a dull throb that is easier to deal with.  I am more convinced than ever that I should work to oppose the socialization of our country.

But, that being said, perhaps it’s time for some fluff.  In that vein, I present my version of “100 things”.  Things I have done in bold.

1. Started your own blog.
2. Slept under the stars.
3. Played in a band. Operated sound system. My daughter’s band was FANTABULOUS!
4. Visited Hawaii
5. Watched a meteor shower.
6. Given more than you can afford to charity.
7. Been to Disneyland. I assume Disneyworld doesn’t count.
8. Climbed a mountain.
9. Held a praying mantis. Many, and teased my wife with them.
10. Sang a solo.
11. Bungee jumped. Oh hell NO!  But I have rappelled from a chopper.
12. Visited Paris, Texas, Tennessee, but not France.
13. Watched a lightning storm at sea. Scary! And awesome!
14. Taught yourself an art from scratch.
15. Adopted a child.
16. Had food poisoning. Wicked stuff!
17. Walked to the top of the Statue of Liberty. Visited there, but didn’t climb because the line was insanely long.
18. Grown your own vegetables. Very rewarding, can’t wait to grow some more.
19. Seen the Mona Lisa in France.
20. Slept on an overnight train.
21. Had a pillow fight.
22. Hitch-hiked.
23. Taken a sick day when you’re not ill. I “called in well” a few times.
24. Built a snow fort. In La.?  I don’t think so.
25. Held a lamb.
26. Gone skinny dipping.
27. Run a Marathon. Huh?
28. Ridden in a gondola in Venice.
29. Seen a total eclipse. Lunar, not solar.
30. Watched a sunrise or sunset.
31. Hit a home run.
32. Been on a cruiseALASKA!  Fabulous!  Would do it again in a minute.
33. Seen Niagara Falls in person.
34. Visited the birthplace of your ancestors. Quite a few of them.
35. Seen an Amish community.  Only in passing.
36. Taught yourself a new language. Fail!
37. Had enough money to be truly satisfied. Never!
38. Seen the Leaning Tower of Pisa in person.

39. Gone rock climbing.

40. Seen Michelangelo’s David.

41. Sung karaoke.                                                                                                                  42. Seen Old Faithful geyser erupt.

43. Bought a meal in a restaurant for a complete stranger.                               44. Visited Africa. Why would I want to do that?
45. Walked on a beach by moonlight. Beautiful!
46. Been transported in an ambulance.
47. Had your portrait painted.
48. Gone deep sea fishing. I don’t think the first set of rigs off Grand Isle, La. can really be considered “deep sea” fishing.
49. Seen the Sistine Chapel in person.
50. Been to the top of the Eiffel Tower in Paris.
51. Gone scuba diving or snorkeling.
52. Kissed in the rain.
53. Played in the mud.
54. Gone to a drive-in theater.
55. Been in a movie.
56. Visited the Great Wall of China.
57. Started a business.
58. Taken a martial arts class.
59. Visited Russia.
60. Served at a soup kitchen.
61. Sold Girl Scout Cookies.
62. Gone whale watching.
63. Got flowers for no reason.
64. Donated blood, platelets or plasma. All of the above.
65. Gone sky diving. Are you nucking futs?
66. Visited a Nazi Concentration Camp.
67. Bounced a checkEmbarrassing!  I gave my Mom some money to deposit when she went to the bank and she forgot.  I was only about 17 at the time.
68. Flown in a helicopter. LSP chopper.  Damn cool!  With Walt Smith, Tim Carberry, or Mike Erwin flying.
69. Saved a favorite childhood toy. Some of my tops.
70. Visited the Lincoln Memorial.
71. Eaten Caviar. Over-rated, but not bad.
72. Pieced a quilt.
73. Stood in Times Square.
74. Toured the Everglades.  Maybe one of these days…
75. Been fired from a job. Not that I can remember.
76. Seen the Changing of the Guards in London.
77. Broken a bone. A couple.
78. Been on a speeding motorcycle.
79. Seen the Grand Canyon in person. Fabulous!
80. Published a book.
81. Visited the Vatican. Why would I want to do that?
82. Bought a brand new car. A few.
83. Walked in Jerusalem. Would be interesting, but not in this day and age.
84. Had your picture in the newspaperA few times.
85. Read the entire Bible.
86. Visited the White House. Drove by it, but didn’t visit it.
87. Killed and prepared an animal for eating. And ate it, too!  Yum!
88.  Had chickenpox.
89. Saved someone’s life.
90. Sat on a jury. Our court system sucks!
91. Met someone famous. A few. Mostly NASCAR folks.  But, met Nastasia Kinsky and gave her a ride in my LSP car on a movie set.  Also, Michael McDowell. Jamie Spears was a friend in college.
92. Joined a book club.
93. Lost a loved one. WAY too many!
94. Had a baby. No, but MADE a couple!
95. Seen the Alamo in person.
96. Swam in the Great Salt Lake.  The smell repulsed me!
97. Been involved in a law suitA few, all work related.  And all BS.
98. Owned a cell phone.
99. Been stung by a bee. Bees, wasps, hornets, earwigs.
100. Read an entire book in one dayA few short ones.

Check back later for a list of things that I still want to do.

4 Responses to “The New Year is upon us”

  1. GrapeApe said

    I have a fabulous idea as to how we can keep out blogs updated. I think we should each write matching posts. Every time I write a post you should write one, and each time you write a post I will write one.

    I will have one up later today that will list the things I have done out of that 100 list.

  2. BB said

    Good Job!
    Love,
    BB

  3. GrapeApe said

    I still haven’t written that entry I promised. Sorry!

  4. GrapeApe said

    BTW, next time you visit my site, make sure to take a look at the cool new picture that shows up next to the address. 😉

Leave a Reply

